Student Support

Caring for each individual student is at the heart of what we do.

Teenage boys are under a lot of pressure. We want high school to be a safe place for every student. Our campus is known for being a welcoming home away from home where students feel like they belong. Our compassionate and professional counseling staff guides our young men as they navigate these four years.

Personal & Academic Counseling

The Personal and Academic Counseling program at De Smet Jesuit provides, in an individualized way, the occasion for each student to reflect upon and express his personal and unique thoughts, reactions, feelings and sense or system of values in living out his Christian vocation. This necessarily involves an exploration of his feelings, relationships, involvement (or lack thereof) with teachers, his studies, and various activities. We help students become aware of their academic strengths and weaknesses, find and develop study skills that strengthen weak areas, identify personal strengths and gifts, and formulate career and education plans.

The counseling program provides assistance to each student in his own personal growth and development; academic assessment and guidance; individual and group testing; career exploration; guidance for students conditionally accepted or on academic or disciplinary probation; personal counseling to individual students and small groups; and referrals to outside agencies or counselors when necessary.

Personal Counselors
Collin Miller (cmiller@desmet.org)
Mary Riney (mriney@desmet.org)
Laura Elliott (lelliott@desmet.org)

College Counselors
Dave Boland (dboland@desmet.org)
Will Gunn (wgunn@desmet.org)

 

Learning Center

De Smet Jesuit has two learning consultants in the Learning Center who work with students, families, and teachers to ensure each student with documented educational needs is receiving all the benefits of the De Smet Jesuit high school experience.

The Learning Consultant Department is available to provide services for students who have been diagnosed with an educational disability through consultations with their teachers. Our consultants collaborate with St. Louis Special School District to create individualized services plans for the diagnosed students, and work with teachers to ensure the documented accommodations are being provided. Accommodations may be extended time for a test, preferential seating in the classroom or an alternative test setting to name a few. Many of these accommodations are already built in at De Smet Jesuit, for example, using multisensory in teaching.

Learning Consultants
Linda Doherty, ldoherty@desmet.org
Barbara Kersting, bkersting@desmet.org

Counseling Department

Collin Miller

Collin Miller

Titles: Counseling Department Chair, Guidance Counselor
Degrees: M.A., Counseling, Webster University
B.A., Human Services, Fontbonne University
Email:
David Boland

David Boland

Titles: College Counselor, Guidance Counselor
Email:
Linda Doherty

Linda Doherty

Titles: Learning Consultant
Degrees: B.A. in Special Education, University of Missouri
M.A. in Educational Leadership, Maryville University
Certification - Reading Specialist
Email:
William Gunn

William Gunn

Titles: College Adviser
Degrees: B.A. in History, Washington University in St. Louis
Email:
Barbara Kersting

Barbara Kersting

Titles: Learning Consultant
Degrees: BA, Education (Learning Disabilities & Behavior Disorders K-12), Harris-Stowe University
Email:
Lil Morlock

Lil Morlock

Titles: Registrar
Degrees: Associate Degree in Travel and Tourism, St. Louis Community College - Forest Park
Email:
Mary Riney

Mary Riney

Titles: Guidance Counselor
Degrees: B.S. in Business, Maryville University
M.A. in Education Counseling, University of Missouri - St. Louis
Email: